Message sent from:

Our Curriculum

Pre school and Nursery

Our Framework is the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum, which covers a child’s education and development from birth to the end of the reception year at school.

The EYFS is the early years equivalent of the National Curriculum, and includes three primary areas and four key areas of learning.

These are as follows:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding The World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

If you wish to have a more in depth look at what the EYFS framework entails we have further information available in school and on the DFS website.; www.foundationyears.org.uk

Within each area there are a number of “early learning goals” for the children to work towards and more specific “stepping stones” along the way. We include a full range of activities and take account of each child’s individual needs when planning the curriculum.


A Typical Session


Each session is based around a routine. This quickly becomes familiar to the children helping them to become secure, confident, independent and able to try new things within a known structure.


A typical session is run in three parts, this means we stop half way through for healthy snacks, which along with water is provided by the school.


  • Arrive and hang up coats (children have their own name tag which are displayed near the coat rack when they arrive)
  • Free Play
  • Circle Time includes songs, rhymes, playing musical instruments etc
  • Snacks (Generally milk or water, fruit or vegetables)
  • Free Play
  • Story Time
  • Home Time


Free play involves a variety of activities including painting, puzzles, duplo etc, but there will also be some adult led activities in addition. Children’s development is recorded in their on line learning journey and Amazing Achievements Book and parents are at liberty to look at their child’s work whenever they wish.

Hit enter to search